Taco night at the retirement home.

I fed my mother tonight. Think on that for a bit.

Now that you’ve considered what that’s like, consider doing it to Fox News.

Southern Missouri is good for some, but honestly, I cannot imagine more personal suffering than that. It being a good point when she could feed herself pudding is a rough point to begin with. This visit would be tough, I knew that. I’m thankful she knew who I was briefly. Maybe two minutes over an hour and a half, this time. Watching the degenerative mental process reminds me of what is important. She’s not the woman who raised me, not for the most part.

Recently had a break up. I get it. Her daughters are a load of work, and the only way for her not to be exhausted is not having a boyfriend. I don’t think I was adding much to the stress, but some people don’t want a therapist before bed.

Be grateful. Remind yourself that life is fleeting, but there are exceptional points. Enjoy those. Don’t let it drag you into oblivion.

Leave a comment